Josiah Jackson's diaries 1882-1904: index and snippets

Chain

Date Snippet
Wed 12 Apr 1882

Chain harrowing forest.
Chain (31), forest (147), harrowing (38)
Thu 20 Apr 1882

Mr Moon bring links chain harrow.
bring (79), Chain (31), harrow (10), links (2), Moon (85)
Sat 7 Oct 1882

Sent John Chain (measuring) letters.
Chain (31), John (2874), Letters (267), measuring (6), sent (4043)
Thu 29 Mar 1883

Sam Chain -Harrowing, John Jefferies potatoes.
Chain (31), harrowing (38), Jefferies (78), John (2874), potatoes (144), Sam (168)
Sat 14 Apr 1883

Sam Chain Harrowing.
Chain (31), harrowing (38), Sam (168)
Sat 28 Apr 1883

Annie bad cold Sam chain Harrowing.
Annie (251), bad (82), Chain (31), cold (35), harrowing (38), Sam (168)
Mon 30 Apr 1883

Sam Chain harrowing.
Chain (31), harrowing (38), Sam (168)
Fri 18 Jan 1884

B John's Sons ( ) Stubbs Chain ha/rowing.
Chain (31), harowing (1), John (2874), Sons (147), Stubbs (17)
Thu 24 Jan 1884

Chain Harrowing.
Chain (31), harrowing (38)
Sat 16 Feb 1884

Frank Chain harrowing.
Chain (31), Frank (462), harrowing (38)
Tue 19 Feb 1884

Frank Chain harrowing, carried Butter Hook Gate.
butter (201), carried (34), Chain (31), Frank (462), Gate (403), harrowing (38), Hook (319)
Fri 7 Mar 1884

Frank Chain harrowing.
Chain (31), Frank (462), harrowing (38)
Fri 1 Mar 1889

B. Joseph measuring Chain.
Chain (31), Joseph (333), measuring (6)
Wed 15 May 1889

B. Joseph measuring chain.
Chain (31), Joseph (333), measuring (6)
Sat 1 Jun 1889

S. Grey Banks Bay Close Burryfield @ Id per chain.
Banks (5), bay (137), Burryfield (25), Chain (31), Close (114), Grey (123), Per (696)
Sat 27 Jul 1889

Let thistles orchard S. Grey f~ father ditch orchard trim sides @ l/d chain.
Chain (31), ditch (51), father (119), Grey (123), ld (13), Let (87), orchard (95), orchard (95), sides (5), thistles (31), Trim (18)
Tue 3 Sep 1889

Bruham House, B. Lodge measuring Chain.
Bruham (767), Chain (31), House (1200), Lodge (793), measuring (6)
Sat 5 Apr 1890

B. John Chain ftc.
Chain (31), ftc (833), John (2874)
Fri 19 Sep 1890

Bniham, called B. Johris measuring Chain.
Bniham (132), Called (1514), Chain (31), Johris (1), measuring (6)
Thu 30 Oct 1890

Brother John St brought measuring Chain paid /- St mothers St lock .
Brother (200), brought (899), Chain (31), John (2874), Lock (63), measuring (6), mothers (26), paid (1944)
Sat 25 Jul 1891

Agreed Stephen Grey trim Hedge St ditches several roads @ / per Chain ( sides).
agreed (1355), Chain (31), ditches (10), Grey (123), hedge (120), Per (696), Roads (30), several (95), sides (5), Stephen (23), Trim (18)
Mon 22 May 1893

J. Rex St W. Whatton chain harrowing.
Chain (31), harrowing (38), Rex (2123), Whatton (211)
Thu 28 Mar 1895

Had cow hang herself stepping Chain tied .
Chain (31), cow (461), Had (431), Hang (4), herself (10), stepping (1), tied (15)
Sun 23 Jun 1895

F Alford upset bringing Dogs Chain Hill told .
Alford (28), bringing (7), Chain (31), dogs (7), Hill (955), told (1155), upset (7)
Sat 15 Feb 1896

From Victor Diary: J. Rex Sc others Chaffcutting Sc Lumber chain harrowing.
Chaffcutting (44), Chain (31), Diary: (16), From (73), harrowing (38), Lumber (781), others (707), Rex (2123), Victor (1058)
Fri 17 Apr 1896

J. Rex Sc others Chain harrowing.
Chain (31), harrowing (38), others (707), Rex (2123)
Thu 10 Sep 1896

Mr Newman (Wincanton) called Sc ordered Chain manure Pump.
Called (1514), Chain (31), manure (256), Newman (38), ordered (247), pump (27), Wincanton (642)
Mon 9 Nov 1896

Bank, called Mr Buckleys bought Victor gave Silver Albert Chain.
Albert (378), Bank (1010), bought (1410), Buckleys (32), Called (1514), Chain (31), Gave (523), Silver (10), Victor (1058)
Tue 5 Jan 1897

Reed Mr Newman's bill chain fbr manure Pump.
Bill (484), Chain (31), fbr (94), manure (256), Newman (38), pump (27), Reed (3327)
Thu 5 Jan 1899

Lumber Pollards / cwt cwt Bran Sc chain Harrow, former lots Blakes, latter Mr Buckley's.
Blakes (10), Bran (176), Buckley (203), Chain (31), cwt (322), cwt (322), former (19), harrow (10), latter (45), lots (64), Lumber (781), Pollards (225)
Fri 21 Feb 1902

brought Willie Watch Chain Mr Hooper's watchmakers.
brought (899), Chain (31), Hooper (91), Watch (14), watchmakers (1), Willie (383)

Index to all the entries
Do get in touch with any comments or suggestions through the email on site homepage. It'd be good to have these.